University of Chicago faculty produce ideas that matter—and change lives in Chicago and beyond. Through interdisciplinary research, our scholars, scientists, and educators have contributed to some of the world’s greatest discoveries, advancements, and bodies of knowledge. Perhaps even more impressive is their dedication to their students: Our faculty offer students mentorship and guidance, and undergraduates have access to faculty at every level, ensuring that the knowledge we produce benefits current generations as well as those to come.

This is UChicago

UChicago Breakthrough

UChicago Breakthrough
Dr. Christoph Broelsch and his team performed the first living-donor liver transplant in the United States in November 1989, which turned out to be the first successful living-donor liver transplant in the world.
Meet the patient »

Argonne National Laboratory

The University manages Argonne National Laboratory, one of the oldest and largest of the US Department of Energy national labs. In 2018, the next-generation supercomputer Aurora will draw top US researchers to Argonne and help ensure the nation's continued leadership in high-end computing for scientific research.
Read more about Aurora »
Explore the national labs »

University Professors are selected for internationally recognized eminence in their fields as well as for their potential for high impact across the University. Augusta Read Thomas, member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, is University Professor of Composition.
See more University Professors »

Shulamit Ran

The University is affiliated with the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, Massachusetts. The MBL is dedicated to scientific discovery and improving the human condition through research and education in biology, biomedicine, and environmental science.
Explore the MBL »

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

The University is a partner in managing Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, the only US laboratory dedicated to high-energy physics, named for UChicago professor and Nobel laureate Enrico Fermi. With his colleagues, Fermi conducted the first controlled, self-sustaining nuclear chain reaction on December 2, 1942, initiating the modern nuclear age.
Explore the national labs »

Steven D. Levitt

UChicago faculty have entertained and enlightened the world through the written word. Among the many respected and popular authors to have taught on our faculty are political philosopher Hannah Arendt, Nobel Prize winners Saul Bellow and J. M. Coetzee, and New York Times bestseller Steven D. Levitt.

  • By the

  • 6 Nobel laureates currently on our faculty

    6 Nobel laureates currently on our faculty

    To date, 89 Nobel Prize winners have been associated with the University of Chicago as faculty members, students, or researchers, starting with Albert A. Michelson, who won in 1907 for measuring the speed of light.

  • 33 MacArthur “genius” grants

    33 MacArthur “genius” grants

    The MacArthur Fellows Program has awarded grants to 33 current and former faculty for exceptional creativity, promise for important future advances, and potential for the fellowship to facilitate new work.

  • 7 Fields Medalists

    Seven UChicago mathematicians have won the Fields Medal, regarded as the highest honor in the field.

    Ngô Bao Châu

    Ngô Bao Châu received the Fields Medal in 2010 for his proof of the Fundamental Lemma in the theory of automorphic forms through the introduction of new algebro-geometric methods.

  • 262 Guggenheim fellowships

    More than 260 Guggenheim fellowships have supported research by current and former faculty.

    Kenneth W. Warren, the Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor in English Language and Literature, will use his Guggenheim fellowship to complete a book project. Between Representation and Self-Expression: A Reconsideration of the Post-45 American Novel explores the relation between the American novel and the problem of ideology in the 1950s.
    Read more about Warren »

  • 8 Presidential Medal of Freedom winners

    8 Presidential Medal of Freedom winners

    Janet Rowley

    Eight current and former faculty have received the Presidential Medal of Freedom including the late Janet Rowley, LAB’42, PhB’44, SB’46, MD’48, in honor of her pioneering cancer research.

  • 10 National Humanities Medal winners

    Ten current and former faculty have won the National Humanities Medal.

    John Hope Franklin

    The late John Hope Franklin received the National Humanities Medal in 1993. An influential historian in African American studies, his groundbreaking work From Slavery to Freedom: A History of African Americans was first published in 1947 and remains an authoritative work in the field.

  • 15 National Medal of Science winners

    15 National Medal of Science winners

    Robert Clayton

    Chemistry professor Robert Clayton is among 15 current and former faculty winners of the National Medal of Science, which he received for “his leading contributions to cosmic chemistry” and “for being an exemplary role model as a mentor, teacher and advocate for rigorous science.”

  • More than $450 million in sponsored research awards each year

    More than $450 million in sponsored research awards each year

    A major hub for world-changing research, UChicago earns roughly $450 million in sponsored research awards each year.

  • Over 120 start-up companies based on UChicago technology

    Over 120 start-up companies based on UChicago technology

    One way UChicago research enriches human life is through technology transfer. We currently have more than 1,100 active patent cases and more than 350 active license agreements.

  • 70+ journals published by the University of Chicago Press

    70+ journals published by the University of Chicago Press

    The University of Chicago Press publishes more than 70 journals and hardcover serials and currently has more than 6,600 books in print, including The Chicago Manual of Style.

  • More discoveries and accolades